basket  0

How to tell what Ford Type 9 gearbox you have

posted on 20 January 2014 | posted in FORD TYPE 9 GEARBOX

Here is a photo explaining about the differences between the input shaft lengths and front cover types fitted to the Ford T9 transmission unit.

The main differences between Type 9 gearboxes input shafts are as follows:

  • The 2.8 V6 and 2.3 Diesel have long shafts and a long pilot shaft going into the flywheel spigot bearing.
  • The 2.8 V6 has 19 teeth (internal)
  • The 2.3 diesel has 18 teeth (internal)
  • The V6 has a longer front cover tube than the diesels version.
  • The 1600, 1800 & 2.0 have a shorter input shaft with 18 driving teeth (internal)
  • All clutch splines are the same for the above.
I hope this will help you identify your Type 9 5 speed gearbox if you're unsure.

For information about the actual input shaft types and lengths please see HERE

Ford Type 9 gearbox versions


recommend a friendRecommend this blog entry to a friend